Syracuse University

SU News

2012-13 Remembrance Scholars chosen

April 27, 2012

Kelly Homan Rodoski
(315) 443-3784

Syracuse University’s Remembrance Scholar Committee has chosen the 35 students who will be the 2012-13 Remembrance Scholars.

The scholarships were founded as a tribute to—and means of remembering—the 35 students who were killed in the Dec. 21, 1988, bombing of Pan Am Flight 103 over Lockerbie, Scotland. The students, who were returning from a semester of study in London and Florence, were among 270 people who perished in the bombing.

The scholarships are funded through an endowment supported by gifts from alumni, friends, parents and corporations. Significant support for the Remembrance Scholarships has been provided by C. Jean Thompson ’66 and Syracuse University Board of Trustees Chairman Richard L. Thompson G’67 in memory of Jean Taylor Phelan Terry ’43 and John F. Phelan, Jean Thompson’s parents; and by the Fred L. Emerson Foundation.

Remembrance Scholars are chosen in their junior year through a rigorous and competitive process. Applicants write three essays as part of a comprehensive application, and finalists and are interviewed by members of the selection committee, composed of University faculty, staff and students. The $5,000 scholarships are awarded on the basis of distinguished academic achievement, citizenship and service to the community.

“Working with current Remembrance Scholars along with dedicated faculty and staff to select this year’s outstanding scholars has been a most rewarding experience for me,” says Mark Glauser, associate dean for research and doctoral programs in the L.C. Smith College of Engineering and Computer Science and chair of the Remembrance Scholar Selection Committee. “These 35 new scholars represent the best and brightest from across Syracuse University, highlighting what a wonderful, talented and diverse student body that we have. They have a deep understanding of the tragedy that was Pan Am 103 and the importance of honoring those we have lost while looking to the future to help make our world a better place for all.”

The 2012-13 Remembrance Scholars will be recognized during a convocation in Hendricks Chapel on Friday, Oct. 26.

Additionally, the 2012-13 Lockerbie Scholars, Claire Dorrance and Rachel Nicholson, were recently selected. Each year, two students from Lockerbie come to Syracuse for a year of study through the Syracuse-Lockerbie Scholarships, jointly funded by Syracuse and the Lockerbie Trust.

The 2012-13 Remembrance Scholars (and their hometowns and colleges/schools) are:

  •  Scott Anthes of Hamilton, N.J., a civil engineering major in the L.C. Smith College of Engineering and Computer Science (LCS);
  • Ryan Badman of Jordan, N.Y., a physics and applied mathematics major in The College of Arts and Sciences (A&S);
  • Ivan Bakin of Buffalo, N.Y., an international relations major in A&S;
  • Amanda Balch of Sparrow Bush, N.Y., a biology major in A&S;
  • Jaime Bernstein of Fairfield, Conn., a chemistry and Spanish major in A&S;
  • Tara Brenner of Freeville, N.Y., a biochemistry and mathematics major in A&S;
  • Andrea Butchko of Dallas, Pa., a civil engineering and engineering management major in LCS;
  • David Carpenter of Liverpool, N.Y., a music performance and biology major in the College of Visual and Performing Arts and A&S;
  • Andrew Jake Cline of Newbury, N.H., a biomedical engineering major in LCS;
  • Sarah Costello of Haverhill, Mass., a sport management and psychology major in the David B. Falk College of Sport and Human Dynamics and A&S;
  • Daniel Cowen of Wayland, Mass., a political science and policy studies major in A&S;
  • Christopher DePalma of Flemington, N.J., a student in the School of Architecture;
  • Emily Deshaies of Chelmsford, Mass., an accounting major in the Martin J. Whitman School of Management;
  • Adam Dukoff of Hewlett, N.Y., a finance and accounting major in the Whitman School;
  • Jesse Feitel of East Northport, N.Y., a political science major in A&S;
  • Maureen Finn of Southington, Conn., a television, radio and film major in the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications;
  • Alise Fisher of Randolph, N.J., a public relations major in the Newhouse School;
  • Laura Foti of Dowington, Pa., a public relations major in the Newhouse School;
  • Carly Getz of Cazenovia, N.Y., a public relations and marketing major in the Newhouse School and the Whitman School;
  • Kemardo Henry of Baltimore, Md., a biochemistry major in A&S;
  • Alyssa Ierardo of Chester Springs, Pa., a biochemistry and geography major in A&S;
  • Gordon Jones of Westerville, Ohio, a mathematics major in A&S;
  • Anna Kahkoska of Colorado Springs, Colo., a biochemistry major in A&S;
  • Daniel Kepple of Melrose, Mass., a biological and medical physics major in A&S;
  • Stephanie Kranz of Amherst, N.Y., a mathematics and policy studies major in A&S;
  • Alaina Mallette of North Syracuse, N.Y., a geography and Spanish major in A&S;
  • Juliann Merryman of Bear Creek, Pa., an international relations major in A&S; 
  • Elizabeth Mikula of North Caldwell, N.J., a student in the School of Architecture; 
  • Matthew Musacchio of Canastota, N.Y., a public relations major in the Newhouse School;
  • Perry Russom of Highland Park, Pa., a broadcast journalism and political science major in the Newhouse School and A&S;
  • Kishauna Soljour of New Caanan, Conn., a television, radio and film and African American studies major in the Newhouse School and A&S;
  • Michelle Tarshus of Elmira, N.Y., an information management and technology major in the School of Information Studies;
  • Natascha Trellinger of Boulder, Colo., an aerospace engineering and mathematics in LCS;
  • Sarah Walton of Henniker, N.H., a policy studies and geography major in A&S; and 
  • Bailey White, a mathematics and television, radio and film major in A&S and the Newhouse School.

Recent News