Syracuse University

SU News

Maxwell, Newhouse to co-host Murrow Program for Journalists

October 31, 2011

Jill Leonhardt
(315) 443-5492

For the sixth consecutive year, the Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs and S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications will co-host 17 international journalists participating in the State Department's Edward R. Murrow Program for Journalists. This year's cohort represents 12 Near East countries including: Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Lebanon, Oman, Palestine Territories, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia and Yemen.

The participants will spend three weeks in the United States, beginning with an orientation phase at the State Department in Washington, D.C. They will be on campus from Nov. 2-8, participating with faculty and students in various academic seminars at both Maxwell and Newhouse. While here, participants will focus on topics related to how a democracy functions and the responsibilities of a free press in a democracy.

In addition to their on-campus activities, the international journalists will meet with local print and broadcast journalists, tour the Onondaga County Board of Elections, engage with a range of community members, and participate in social outings. Prior to coming to Syracuse, they will have been in St. Louis to observe U.S. media coverage of state politics and government, as well as American civic life and grassroots involvement in political affairs. The program concludes in New York City with media visits and a closing symposium on the impact of media literacy on journalism.

SU is one of 10 universities this year that is hosting approximately 150 Murrow journalists representing 105 countries. At the conclusion of this year's program, there will be more than 900 Murrow Program alumni around the world.

Recent News