Syracuse University

SU News

Finalists announced in fifth annual Mirror Awards

April 21, 2011

Wendy S. Loughlin
(315) 443-2785

Winners will be announced at awards luncheon June 7 in New York City

Syracuse University’s S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications has announced the finalists in the fifth annual Mirror Awards competition. The competition drew over 200 entries.

mirrorFinalists, chosen by a group of journalists and journalism educators, are:

Best Single Article, Traditional Media

Best Single Article, Digital Media

Best Profile, Traditional Media

Best Profile, Digital Media

Best Commentary, Traditional Media

Best Commentary, Digital Media

Best In-depth Piece, Traditional Media

The awards ceremony will be held from 11:45 a.m.-2:30 p.m. at The Plaza Hotel, Fifth Avenue at Central Park South, New York City.

In addition to the juried awards, two special awards will be presented: the Fred Dressler Achievement Award to Comcast chairman and CEO Brian L. Roberts, and the i-3 award for impact, innovation and influence to Foursquare co-founders Dennis Crowley ’98 and Naveen Selvadurai.

The Mirror Awards, established by the Newhouse School in 2006, honor the reporters, editors and teams of writers who hold a mirror to their own industry for the public’s benefit.

For more information, contact Jean Brooks at (315) 443-5711 or or visit .

Recent News