Syracuse University

SU News

44 Stars celebration recognizes students, student organizations

April 21, 2011

Jill Ouikahilo
(315) 443-8568

The Office of Student Activities presented “The 44 Stars of Excellence Gala & Celebration,” sponsored by Macy’s and Bloomingdales, on Tuesday, April 19, in the Goldstein Auditorium. Hosts Mehegan Murphy and Aaron Hudson conducted an exciting evening filled with dinner, awards and performances by First Year Players and Groovestand.

44starsIn total, 18 awards were presented throughout the evening to either a student or recognized student organization(s), or both. The recipients were:

The Mary Ann Show Center for Public and Community Service Award
Student Organizations: Orange Seeds, SOPHE and Comm.UNITY
Individual: Sierra Fogal

The Award for Outstanding Philanthropy Programming
Student Organizations: Muslim Student Association and Phi Iota Alpha

The Student Activities Award for Creativity and Ingenuity
Student Organization: Alpha Phi Alpha
Individual: Amy Tin

The Lillian and Emanuel Slutzker Center for International Services Award for Cultural Diversity
Student Organization: SCOPE
Individual: Jessica Santana

The Division of Student Affairs’ Leadership Institute of Citation Distinction Award
Individual: Queen Chambliss

The Career Services Emerging Leader Award
Individual: Alyssa Brennan

The Public Affairs Award for the Most Outstanding Media or Publication
Student Organization: Jerk Magazine

The Student Centers and Programming Services Award for Excellence in Programming
Student Organizations: Omega Phi Beta, Mu Sigma Upsilon and Multiracial Experience

The Macy’s Rising Star Award
Student Organization: She’s the First
Individual: Nick Haas

The Division of Student Affairs Award for Collaboration
Student Organizations: Omega Phi Beta and Phi Beta Sigma

The Associate Vice President Award for Positive Advocacy
Student Organizations: Delta Sigma Theta and Habitat for Humanity
Individual: Jonathan Chan

The Student Association SU Orange Spirit Award
Student Organization: Traditions Commission
Individual: Adam McMonagle

The Musical Performing Group of the Year Award
Student Organizations: First Year Players and Groovestand

The Bloomingdale’s Entertainers of the Year Award
Student Organizations: Raices and UU

The Student Activities “Live It” Award for Excellence in Leadership
Individuals: Emily Allen, Michael Weiss, Matan Cafri, Allie Forbes and Amy Tin

The Class of 2011 Citizenship Award
Individual: Justin Cole

The Award for Excellence by an Organization President
Individuals: Samantha Lifson, Andrew Beyda and Na’Tasha Webb-Prather

The Senior Vice President Award for Outstanding Senior Leadership
Individuals: Paul Stanley, Jessica Santana

Recent News