Syracuse University

SU News

Department of Public Safety honors those who contribute to safety of University community

May 04, 2010

SU News Services
(315) 443-3784

The Syracuse University Department of Public Safety (DPS) recently honored 12 of its employees, along with three members of the University community, at the third annual DPS Awards Ceremony at Drumlins Country Club. The awards recognized the exceptional achievements of DPS staff members throughout the 2009 calendar year. Their outstanding accomplishments continue to contribute to the safety and security of the University community.

The award recipients:

• Gregory P. MacDonald is an SU student who was acknowledged for recognizing and confronting a suspect in Dellplain Hall who had repeatedly gained entrance to the hall and engaged in voyeurism. With the help of fellow students, MacDonald escorted the suspect to authorities.

• Raymond Kopp and Lee Badman, both members of the University’s Information Technology and Services unit, were recognized for their help in solving a number of burglaries and larcenies by tracking computer addresses on the University network.

• Joseph O’Connor, public safety residential receptionist, was presented with the inaugural Major Grant Williams Community Policing Award. The award commemorates the dedication and commitment to service exemplified by the late Williams in his more than four decades of service to the Department of Public Safety and to the University. O’Connor was honored for his consistently excellent performance as a member of the residential security program and his willingness to make the program better in any manner possible.

• Nicole Cooter, DPS office manager; Lt. Vernon Thompson; and Capt. John Sardino received the Director’s Distinguished Award for their continuing commitment to going above and beyond their required duties: Cooter for her reliability and dedication to the implementation of a new scheduling system, Thompson for leading an investigation into the sale of illegal drugs on campus and his leadership role in implementing a homeland security training program on campus, and Sardino for his leadership in coordinating security for Vice President Joseph Biden’s visits to campus in May and September.

• Officers Edward Babcock and Paul Jenkins and Communications Specialist Diane Jensen received the Director’s Meritorious Service Award for their collective efforts during the investigation of a burglary and the subsequent recovery of the stolen property.

• Sgt. Sean Corcoran and Officer Todd Windsor received the Director’s Meritorious Service Award for assisting the Syracuse Police Department in capturing a dangerous felon in a foot pursuit.

• Officer Matthew Marsh and Assistant Chief Michael Rathbun were honored with the Vice Presidents’ Award, which is awarded to officers who perform a series of acts of exceptional achievement for the department and the University. Marsh was recognized for his performance throughout the 2009 calendar year and specifically for his actions that led to the arrest of a suspect for criminal possession of a weapon and reckless endangerment and, in a separate incident, effecting the arrest of a suspect for criminal possession of a weapon and resisting arrest. Rathbun was singled out for his actions on two separate occasions: 1) for subduing and arresting a suspect for criminal possession of a weapon, burglary in the second degree and resisting arrest and 2) for directing DPS and SPD units to two robbery suspects who were attempting to flee the scene of the crime by boarding a CENTRO bus.

• Officer Christopher Reidy received the Director’s Award for Heroism. Reidy was honored for his quick actions following a stabbing assault at a fraternity on Walnut Place. He immediately radioed information about the assault to other officers; began a foot pursuit of the suspect and eventually apprehended him at gunpoint; and was able to direct officers to the weapon used in the assault, which the suspect had discarded during the pursuit.

Recent News