Syracuse University

SU News

Finalists named for Mirror Awards

April 19, 2010

Wendy S. Loughlin
(315) 443-2785

Twenty-six finalists in seven categories have been named in the fourth annual Mirror Awards competition for excellence in media industry reporting. The competition, sponsored by Syracuse University’s S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications, drew nearly 200 entries.

mirror“Those of us who served as judges were impressed by the depth and variety of entries,” says Joel Kaplan, associate dean in the Newhouse School, a member of the Mirror Awards Advisory Committee and a first-tier judge. “While traditional journalism outlets like Vanity Fair and The New York Times continue to hold a mirror to their media colleagues, they have been joined by such content providers as 5280 Magazine in Denver,, Philadelphia magazine and Financial Times.”

Finalists, chosen by a group of journalists and journalism educators, are:

Best Single Article—Traditional Media

Best Single Article—Digital Media

 Best Profile—Traditional Media

 Best Profile—Digital Media

 Best Commentary—Traditional Media

 Best Commentary—Digital Media

Best In-Depth Piece—Traditional Media

The winners will be feted at a luncheon ceremony on Thursday, June 10, from 11:45 a.m.-2:30 p.m. at The Plaza Hotel, Fifth Avenue at Central Park South, Manhattan. CBS News’ Katie Couric will serve as emcee. Lorraine E. Branham, dean of the Newhouse School, will host the event.

For sponsorship levels, and to register, see the online registration form. Members of the media who wish to attend and cover the event should contact Wendy Loughlin at (315) 443-2785 or For more information, contact Jean Brooks at (315) 443-5711 or

Recent News