Syracuse University

SU News

Entries being accepted in fifth annual Mirror Awards competition

December 21, 2010

Jaime Winne Alvarez
(315) 443-3784

mirrorSyracuse University’s S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications is now accepting entries for the fifth annual Mirror Awards. Application deadline is Feb. 10, 2011. There is no fee to enter.

This year’s awards categories include:
Best Single Article, Traditional Media
Best Single Article, Digital Media
Best Profile, Traditional Media
Best Profile, Digital Media
Best Commentary, Traditional Media
Best Commentary, Digital Media (including blogs)
Best In-Depth Piece, Traditional Media

All entries must have been published or broadcast between Jan. 1 and Dec. 31, 2010. Entries are evaluated based on three criteria: excellence of craft; framing of the issue; and appropriateness for the intended audience. Winners are chosen by a group of journalists and journalism educators.

The Mirror Awards, established by the Newhouse School in 2006, honor the reporters, editors and teams of writers who hold a mirror to their own industry for the public’s benefit. Honorees are recognized for news judgment and command of craft in reporting, analysis and commentary on developments in the media industry and its role in our economy, culture and democracy.

For more information about the Mirror Awards competition, contact Jean Brooks at (315) 443-5711 or or see For press inquiries, contact Wendy Loughlin at 443-2785 or

Recent News