Syracuse University

SU News

Two Daily Orange writers win Hearst Sports Writing awards

March 15, 2010

SU News Services
(315) 443-3784

Two Daily Orange sports writers are among the winners in the 50th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation Journalism Awards Program, in which 110 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate.

Tyler Dunne placed third, winning a $1,000 scholarship, while Jared Diamond placed ninth, earning a $500 scholarship.

Dunne was cited for his story “30 Years of Hate,” detailing the Syracuse-Georgetown basketball rivalry. “Winning a Hearst award is a great honor,” says Dunne. “Reporting for this story was a blast from start to finish. I truly had a great time talking to Sleepy Floyd, Leo Rautins, Roosevelt Bouie and others about old Manley Field House and the Syracuse-Georgetown rivalry. To be honored for ‘30 Years of Hate’ is definitely humbling.”

Diamond was cited for “Reflecting on a Classic,” which told the stories of various Syracuse basketball fans watching the six-overtime game in the BIG EAST Tournament against Connecticut in 2009. “Placing in the Hearst competition is the greatest honor a college journalist can achieve, and I am proud to have finished ninth,” Diamond says. “I know that there were dozens of stories submitted that easily could have won, so I appreciate that the judges deemed mine worthy of recognition. This award serves as a perfect conclusion to my time reporting for The Daily Orange.”

Ninety-seven students from 56 universities participated in the sports writing competition. First Place was awarded to Andrew Astleford from the University of Missouri,who will receive a $2,000 scholarship for his winning article, “Detour to Destiny” from The Columbia Missourian. The University of Missouri will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.

Other scholarship winners are: Scott Miller, University of Iowa, second place, $1,500 scholarship; Ben Schorzman, University of Oregon, fourth place, $750 scholarship; Patrick Malee, University of Oregon, fifth place, $600 scholarship; Benjamin Jones, University of Kentucky, sixth place, $500 scholarship; Jayson Jenks, University of Kansas, seventh place, $500 scholarship; Joey Nowak, Michigan State University, eighth place, $500 scholarship; and Thomas Powell Latimer, UNC, Chapel Hill, tenth place, $500 scholarship.

The awards program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication, and fully funded and administered by the W.R. Hearst Foundation. It consists of six monthly writing, three photojournalism and four broadcast news competitions, and one multimedia competition, with championship finals in all divisions except multimedia. The program awards up to $550,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Judging the writing competition this year were: Jeff Cohen, executive vice president and editor, Houston Chronicle; Peter Bhatia, editor, The Oregonian; and Jennifer Sizemore, vice president/editor in chief, and executive producer, NBC News.

Recent News