Syracuse University

SU News

Maxwell, Newhouse schools to co-host international journalists as part of U.S. Department of State program

September 16, 2009

Jaime Winne Alvarez
(315) 443-3784

Syracuse University’s Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs and S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications will jointly host a delegation of nine North Africa journalists from Oct. 1-7 as part of the U.S. Department of State’s Edward R. Murrow Program for International Journalists. This is the fourth consecutive year that SU has been selected by the State Department to host a group of Murrow journalists, who will travel to the United States to learn about the rights and responsibilities of a free press in a democracy and about the social, economic and political structures of the nation.

SU is one of 11 host institutions for the total of 150 visiting journalists from around the world. The nine journalists and three interpreters coming to Syracuse represent Algeria, Morocco and Tunisia. They include television and print reporters.

Newhouse School Dean Lorraine Branham will welcome the North African journalists to SU on Oct. 1. Maxwell School Dean Mitchel Wallerstein and Branham will host their week-long stay. While here, the journalists will participate in interactive seminars and sessions with faculty, professional journalists and others. In hosting the delegation of journalists, SU is also working with the International Center of Syracuse to ensure the journalists experience the local community as well as the SU campus.

In addition to SU, the other institutions of higher education chosen to participate in the 2009 Edward R. Murrow Program are the University of Georgia, the University of Nevada, the University of South Florida, the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, the University of Tennessee, the University of Oklahoma, the University of Maryland, the University of Minnesota, the University of Southern California and Marquette University.

Recent News