Syracuse University

SU News

Syracuse University to honor 2008-09 Remembrance Scholars at Oct. 24 convocation

October 15, 2008

Kelly Homan Rodoski
(315) 443-5381

Kelly Homan Rodoski

The 2008-09 Convocation for Remembrance Scholars, honoring 35 outstanding Syracuse University students from this year's senior class, will be held Friday, Oct. 24, at 3:30 p.m. in Hendricks Chapel.

The Remembrance Scholarships, among the most prestigious scholarships awarded by the University, were founded as a tribute to the 270 people, including 35 SU students, who were killed in the Dec. 21, 1988, bombing of Pan Am Flight 103 over Lockerbie, Scotland. This year marks the 20th anniversary of the tragedy.

The scholarships are funded through an endowment supported by gifts from alumni, friends, parents and corporations. Significant support for the Remembrance Scholarships has been provided by the Fred L. Emerson Foundation; and C. Jean Thompson '66 and SU Trustee Richard L. Thompson G'67 in memory of Jean Taylor Phelan Terry '43 and John F. Phelan, Jean Thompson's parents.

Applicants for the $5,000 scholarship were asked to highlight their academic achievements and University activities, including community service. They also wrote essays and participated in interviews with members of the selection committee. "The Remembrance Scholars remind us that humankind has the capacity to turn unspeakable tragedy into a celebration of life," says Suzanne Thorin, University librarian and dean of the library and chair of the Remembrance Scholars Selection Committee. "It is an honor to be present each year to see in current students the hopes and dreams of classmates lost."

Additionally, each year two students from Lockerbie are selected as Lockerbie Scholars. They spend one year studying at SU on a scholarship before returning to the United Kingdom to complete their university degrees. This year's scholars, Lauren Flynn and Kirsty Liddon, will also be recognized at the convocation. Both SU and the Lockerbie Trust support this award. Representatives from Lockerbie, as well as from SU's study abroad center in London, will be in attendance at the convocation.

Thorin will preside over the convocation, and SU Chancellor and President Nancy Cantor will deliver a message. Margaret L. Usdansky, assistant professor of sociology, will speak on behalf of the selection committee. A Remembrance Scholar will speak on behalf of the group, and Thorin will present the scholars. Gordon G. Ferrie, deputy rector of Lockerbie Academy, will also speak. A reception will follow the convocation in the lobby of the Heroy Geology Laboratory.

The 2008-09 Remembrance Scholars and their majors are Gary Michael Clark of Auburn, N.Y., policy studies; Jillian Lee Cole of Hector, N.Y., civil engineering; Kaitlin M. Dengos of Medway, Mass., inclusive elementary education and sociology; Graham Bennett Douglass of Kerrville, Texas, drama; Ryan Anderson Doyle of Niskayuna, N.Y., architecture; Jackson Droney of Erie, Pa., policy studies and international relations; Curtis Martell Eatman of Paterson, N.J., political science and communication and rhetorical studies.

Also, Caryn R. Espy of Andover, Mass., supply chain management and retail management; Anthony M. Fatta of Bridgeport, N.Y., religion and political science; Theresa Franzese of Gettysburg, Pa., architecture; Melissa A. Giroux of Guilford, Conn., policy studies and magazine journalism; Marlene J. Goldenberg of Minnetonka, Minn., political philosophy, Spanish and international relations; Michael S. Grzelak of Moultonborough, N.H., policy studies and history; Samantha Harmon of East Syracuse, N.Y., sculpture.

Also, Kimberly N. Harris of Aurora, Ill., policy studies, political science and magazine journalism; Melanie Hicken of Stevenson Ranch, Calif., history, political science and newspaper journalism; Nida Javaid of Middletown, N.Y., political science, economics and history; Kyle Kwiatkowski of Grosse Pointe Woods, Mich., civil engineering; Brianna Larson of Orchard Park, N.Y., drama and history; Melanie D. Mahanna of Clinton, N.Y., inclusive elementary education and French; Carissa Matthews of Huntington Station, N.Y., public relations.

Also, Shannon M. McLoughlin of Altamont, N.Y., public relations and marketing; Marguerite M. Moore of Shaker Heights, Ohio, sociology and television, radio and film; Amy Nneamaka Otuonye of Montgomery, N.Y., chemistry; Tinuke Oyefule of East Norriton, Pa., drama; Francine A. Palmares of Yonkers, N.Y., biology and history; Jaclyn A. Pfaehler of Bozeman, Mont., public relations and international relations; Matt Reilly of Old Bridge, N.J., political science and public relations.

Also, Michael Erminio Rizzolo of Avon, N.Y., finance and accounting; Nana Sang- Bender of Syracuse, N.Y., international relations; Jessica Elizabeth Sauve of Rapid River, Mich., public relations and policy studies; Brian Spendley of Hampton, N.J., biomedical engineering; Jason Tarr of Calabasas, Calif., broadcast journalism, international relations and Spanish; Thomas David Wichman of Neenah, Wis., finance and television, radio and film; and Claire S. Zillman of Maywood, Ill., newspaper journalism and history.

Recent News