Syracuse University

SU News

31st annual Grossman Trial Competition held

November 05, 2008

Jaclyn D. Grosso
(315) 443-9534

Jaclyn D. Grosso

This fall, nearly 20 third-year Syracuse University College of Law students participated in the 31th annual Lionel O. Grossman Trial Competition. In the final round, held on Nov. 3 at the Hanley Federal Building in Syracuse, the plaintiff's team of Caitlin McGowan and James Flynn beat the defendant's team of Tahanie Aboushi and Kavin Thadani. Thadani received the award for the tournament's Best Overall Advocate, while Flynn won the Best Final Round Advocate.

The presiding judge for the competition's final round was the senior judge of the Northern District of New York, the Hon. Frederick J. Scullin Jr. L'64. The honorary bench included: Hannah Arterian, dean of the SU College of Law; Richard Grossman L'55; the Hon. John C. Cherundolo L'73; Onondaga County District Attorney William Fitzpatrick L'76; Travis H.D. Lewin, emeritus professor of law; Joanne VanDyke, partner in Coté, Limpert & VanDyke, LLP; and Joseph Coté III, partner in Coté, Limpert & VanDyke, LLP.

The competition is named after alumnus and founder Lionel O. Grossman L'16.

Syracuse University College of Law has one of the top-rated Moot Court programs in the country and has won the New York State Bar Association's prestigious Tiffany Cup 11 times.

Recent News